Mr. Yerington’s Updates

News and Information from Mr. Yerington’s Classroom

Welcome to Mr. Yerington’s Class

Posted by iateacher on September 4, 2012

Hello Parents, Guardians, and Students

I am FINALLY getting around to doing my first update for the school year.  About time, right!   Anyway, I think the school year is off to a great start.  I’m enjoying getting to know each of my new students and hope they are enjoying science class.  There are a few things I want parents and guardians to be aware of so let’s get to that:

1)  As indicated on my class information sheet that was sent home the first week of school, I DO NOT give extra credit.  However, I have told students that when they receive a D or F on an assignment they may re-do the assignment ONCE to improve their grade.  Please encourage your child to do this if you notice on Power School they have a low grade.

2)  I told students just today that I am implementing a classroom management system similar to our SPEAR Awards that we used to do school wide.  When I see students doing well or going “above and beyond” they will receive one or more tickets.  These may be saved and redeemed for various rewards such as a homework coupon, a pop or gum pass, the student choosing their own seat for the class period or even teaching the class for a period!  I will also be doing monthly drawings where the student who has the ticket(s) I draw may choose any ONE reward for their one matching ticket!!  I’m looking forward to having a lot of fun with this system!

Finally, what’s going on in class right now??  We have started our Introduction to Science unit.  For those of you who have had students in my class in the past we have changed this unit a bit.  It is no longer entirely book-based.  We will be doing guest speakers, a field trip to Power and Water and more hands on activities.  We will learn the basics of science through a short unit on energy.  It should be a lot of fun.

When we finish Intro to Science we will be heading into our Cells, Brain and Eye unit – of course the highlight of this unit is our brain and eye dissections!!  Watch for more about this in my next issue of classroom news!

Until then, if you have questions or comments please feel free to contact me!

Thank You

Mr. Yerington

Leave a comment