Mr. Yerington’s Updates

News and Information from Mr. Yerington’s Classroom

Classroom News – September 2011

Posted by iateacher on September 4, 2011

Hello Parents, Guardians and Students:

I can’t believe September is here already, but I can feel it in the air.  I am enjoying the cooler weather!  I was able to turn off the air conditioning and open the windows!!  Now if I could just get the neighborhood dogs to stop barking all night!

Anyway, I can’t PROMISE I will keep up on classroom news, but I am going to try to post a little something every month.  So, enjoy this first edition.

We are off to a great start in science this year.  So far most of the students are doing very well at turning in their homework!  I am hoping that continues.  We are working on our first unit which is an introduction to science.  As your child may have told you they are not allowed to take the textbooks home, but I do give them a page of notes for each section.  They can use these notes to complete the homework and stay for quizzes and the final test.

Speaking of the final test….  I’m not 100% sure when that will be yet, but I am thinking sometime by the end of this month or first of October (probably closer to the first of October since we have some Langwood days in there as well…)  I will make sure to post some information as it gets closer.

When we finish our Introduction to Science unit we will move on to Cells, the Brain and the Eye.  This is where our “famous” brain and eye dissections will take place.  More information about that in my October classroom news!

Well, that about sums up this month. If you have any questions please feel free to e-mail or call!

Thanks

Mr. Yerington

Leave a Reply

 
