Mr. Yerington’s Updates

News and Information from Mr. Yerington’s Classroom

The Beginning of Another School Year!

Posted by iateacher on August 15, 2011

It never ceases to amaze me how quickly the “sumer” goes and we arrive at the beginning of another school year.  Every year I promise myself I will update my blog more frequently and it seems every year, time gets away from me, but once again this year I am promising to get things updated!!

Today marked the first day back for most of the teachers in the Muscatine Community School District.  We were treated to a wonderful talk by Jamie Vollmer.  Mr. Vollmer used to be a harsh critic of public schools, insisting the should be run like a business.  That all changed when a high school language teacher listened to him speak and asked some tough questions.  You can read more about it on Jamie’s web site.  Since then Mr. Vollmer has become a great friend of public education.  I encourage you to browse his website – ESPECIALLY “Vollmer’s List” and “The Conversation.”

Now, more than ever, public schools need support from parents, the communities in which they operate and the public in general.  Many in this day and age are quick to “bash” public education, not understanding where we are coming from and what we do day in and day out.

I enjoyed Mr. Vollmer’s talk today and hope those reading my little blog will check out his web site.

Thanks

Mr. Yerington

Leave a Reply

 
