Mr. Yerington’s Updates

News and Information from Mr. Yerington’s Classroom

About Our Books

Posted by iateacher on August 16, 2010

Hello Parents and Guardians,

OK, at the time I write this I realize school hasn’t even started yet, but I figured I would get a jump on things.  I didn’t do so well updating my blog last year anyway, so maybe this will be the start of a better year!  I wanted to take a moment to tell you about the books your child will be using in my science class this year.  I always seem to get a lot of questions about that so maybe this will help everyone know what’s going on.

First, we only use TWO books during the whole school year.  Most of our units are “kit-based” which means they don’t come with books.  However, our first unit of the year IS book based.  It is officially called “The Nature of Science and Technology” although I generally call it “Introduction to Science”  The book for that unit is purple in color and looks like the picture below.

Prentice Hall BookWe will use this particular book for about the first five to six weeks of school.  As I will tell the students, I only have a classroom set of these books, however, for those of you who have internet (which, if you’re reading this, you must!) the book IS available online to assist with homework.  You can click on my page titled “Accessing Books Online” to see more information about doing this.  If you need the access code please feel free to e-mail me.  Your child can pick up a letter at school with all the information as well.

The other book we will use this year is our ScienceSaurus book.  This book is a general reference for all things science related.  We use it mostly to help with our Daily Science papers which WILL be homework this year.  Students will get a double sided Daily Science paper on Monday and will have until Friday to complete the page with the help of their ScienceSaurus book, the internet, etc.  The ScienceSaurus book is green and looks like the picture to the right.

I hope that will help clear up the confusion on what each book is for.  However, if you have any further questions, please fell free to contact me via e-mail, telephone or stop in to West and visit!  I look forward to a great year with your child!

Mr. Yerington

Leave a Reply

 
